Photography · Travel · Uncategorized · Writing

The Happiest Place On Earth

Pure. What is pure? A child.

So I thought that this picture could represent the child in everyone after a long mental debate with myself on what to use and also no blog worthy day pictures of the castle that isn’t taken from an angle.

One of the many photos I took from the night. I will be posting more photos from Disney soon on a separate post.

Many of us grew up watching Disney and when I went to Disneyland, it felt very nostalgic. The last time I’ve been there was when I was 9. Now that I’ve graduated, I felt that it was good timing to stop by Disneyland.

I had a good time at Disney and it was nice to relieve my childhood. Tomorrowland and Fantasyland closes at 4.30pm which kinda sucks. Fast forward to 3 hours later, they had to cancel the night parade. “Great now what the hell are we gonna do?”, I thought.

Friend 1:“The staff member said that the fireworks are still on”

Friend 2:“Oh okay, let’s just go to the gift shops”

We ended up loosing each other in a sea of people and found each other 15 mins before the fireworks. We went to the mini garden roundabout in front of Sleeping Beauty’s castle and lucky for us we managed to find space to sit.

I was channeling my Sleepy cause we’ve been there the whole day and I did my shopping earlier that day. But when the clock strikes 9, the castle started to light up and I recognised one of the tunes that made my childhood. Clips of Disney classics were projected onto the castle as orchestratic music plays.

I’ve never felt more like a child for a very long time

It only hit me in the feels when A Whole New World started playing and I was overwhelmed by the projections and fireworks. This is where the tears come in. The last time I cried was while watching the Season 3 finale of Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D but those were sad tears. Growing up, A Whole New World was my jam and I would listen and sing it non-stop… Still do honestly. Singing and crying quietly was what I did.

Yes it was that nostalgically beautiful

Walking to the Disneyland MTR station, my friends and I talked about how beautiful the night show was and how we shed tears and talk about our favourite Disney movies, songs and childhood memories.

It was such an amazing experience and timing since it was Hong Kong Disneyland’s 10th anniversary. Hong Kong Disneyland was my first Disneyland when I was 9 and it was such a good feeling to come back after graduating high school. So much has changed for the better and definitely made some good memories.

If you ever get the chance to go to a Disneyland, do take it. It might seem childish and stuff but trust me, everyone needs to feel young again for a day to escape from the stress of real life, to feel pure again temporarily. So I’m gonna leave a few of these quotes I found on this website here from Walt Disney during the construction and planning of Disneyland…

“For those of us who remember the carefree time it recreates, Main Street will bring back happy memories. For younger visitors, it is an adventure in turning back the calendar to the days of grandfather’s youth.”- Walt Disney on Main Street U.S.A

“What youngster. . .has not dreamed of flying with Peter Pan over moonlit London, or tumbling into Alice’s nonsensical Wonderland? In Fantasyland, these classic stories of everyone’s youth have become realities for youngsters-of all ages-to participate in.”- Walt Disney on Fantasyland

“Tomorrow can be a wonderful age. Our scientists today are opening the doors of the Space Age to achievements that will benefit our children and generations to come. . .The Tomorrowland attractions have been designed to give you an opportunity to participate in adventures that are a living blueprint of our future.”- Walt Disney on Tomorrowland

“All of us have a cause to be proud of our country’s history, shaped by the pioneering spirit of our forefathers. . .Our adventures are designed to give you the feeling of having lived, even for a short while, during our country’s pioneer days.”- Walt Disney on Frontierland

Walt Disney’s vision was to create a park where both children and adults can have fun together and this vision became a reality for us.

Disneyland is truly the happiest place on earth.

 

Until next time…

One thought on “The Happiest Place On Earth

Leave a Reply

