Photography · thoughts · Travel

Out of Home

So it’s that time of the year where the majority of high school graduates will be starting uni or have already started. I have already left my home of 18 years in Brunei and in the UK. Currently I’m on a train to my uni and will be an international student. I’m 14 hours via flight away from home and boy… I’m not ready for everything to hit me like a bus.

Cultural shock is definitely something I will have to deal with. Being a Southeast Asian girl who loves curry and gluttonous rice cakes and dumplings, it’ll be a miracle for me to find a bowl of curry laksa nearby.

The last few days have been quite bittersweet. I have met up with friends or bumped into them for the whole week. I had impromptu photoshoots, catchup sessions, Pokéhunting sessions and most importantly, food hunting.

img_2828

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
You can follow panurgicbeing on instagram to see his photos

London is amazing. It’s my first time here and there’s so many theatre productions everywhere. I didn’t get to see any of them due to time constrains but maybe in December. I’m here with my dad and we went on a sightseeing tour bus. We got stuck in a jam so we decided to get off and walk to the River Thames waterfront (it was nearby) to look around (we saw a lot of bridges). We walked along the riverbank all the way to Covent Garden (yes it’s really far and it was the hottest day of the year) to meet up with a family friend for dinner. We only had one day in London and were a bit jet lagged so we ended the day early.

img_2961

So that’s what’s happening with me right now haha. It’s gonna be hectic once I arrived at my uni. If anyone one has some tips for uni please do leave them in the comments below. 🙂

Update: this was written a few days ago. Didn’t have the time to edit and upload this until now. I’m settling in well in Wales and its beautiful. So much colder compared to Brunei but I’ve been enjoying myself.

Leave a Reply

