Lifestyle · Photography · Travel

Brighton Book Haul

During Easter break, I took a trip down to Brighton for a few days with my friend Shiobhan. Shiobhan suggested that we go down to a second-hand bookstore while we’re there. See, Shiobhan and I are bookworms which is one of the reasons why we’re still friends for the last 7 years. So basically, we didn’t properly plan out where to go so we googled on the spot the nearest second-hand bookstore. We went to North Laine which is a shopping district in Brighton.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

The bookshop we went to is called Books For Amnesty. It’s hot pink in colour and you can’t missed it.

Books For Amnesty is a charity organisation which sells second-hand books to support human rights. Other than Brighton, they have other branches across the U.K as well (which is great for me cause I planned to come back here to get more books).

I’ve never done this before but I’m just gonna go for it. My book haul consists of 3 very different books. Take note that I haven’t read any of these due to commitments to my assignments so they’re just brief descriptions from the back.

The first book I picked up was Β What’s Your Story? Postcard Collection. As mention on one of my previous posts, I collect postcards when I travel. This book is technically written by many people including J.K Rowling herself and it contains handwritten postcards on people telling their day or story and etc.

The second book I got was Agents of the State by Mike Nichols. It is a crime novel with 3 different stories and I feel that they all link up somehow. I’ve been interested in crime so it was something I was keen on picking up.

The last book is Book of The Dead by John Lloyd and John Mitchinson. It is non-fiction and it’s a biography of dead people. I’ve seen the table of contents and it has a list of people who are recognisable from history like Genghis Khan and too some other not so famous historic people. I’ve been interested in non-fiction recently (as in 1 year ago because I didn’t spare anytime to read since uni started).

I actually can’t wait to start reading these over the summer. I’ve also bought more books over the internet last weekend and I can’t wait to share my thoughts about them.

Do leave some book suggestions because I’m planning to read a lot all summer. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

